Our team

Call the SSP office for any enquiries on – 01773 417204

Postal address: AVSSP C/O Swanwick Sports College, Hayes Lane, Swanwick, Derbyshire DE55 1AR

My favourite sport is Football ⚽️

My sporting hero is Tiger Woods because he had the most impact on my interest in sport ⚽️⛳️

If I wasn’t a PE teacher I’d be a Sports Journalist! ✏️

Fun Fact: I can name and place every American State on a map 🗺️

Rob Shaw

Partnership Development Manager

Designated Safeguarding Lead

rshaw@avssp.co.uk

My favourite sport is Skiing ⛷️

My sporting hero is Eddie Edwards because he became the first competitor to represent Great Britain in Olympic ski jumping 🥇 

If I wasn’t a PE teacher i’d be retired 😂

Fun Fact: My first holiday abroad was to the Soviet Union ✈️

Sue Pacey

Business Manager

sue@avssp.co.uk

01773 417204

My favourite sport is Netball 🏀

My sporting hero is Miss Johnson, my Pe Teacher from Mill Hill, because she made me love PE ⛹️‍♀️

If I wasn’t a PE teacher I would be a presenter on A Place In The Sun 🌞

Fun Fact: I once swam with sharks in the Maldives 🦈

Cheryl Naylor

Coaching Programme Manager 

Designated Safeguarding Lead

cheryl@avssp.co.uk

My favourite sport is Football ⚽️ but Golf is a close 2nd!

My sporting hero is my Grandad because he taught me how to play football and always supported me ❤️

If I wasn’t a PE teacher i’d be a Policeman or in the Armed Forces 👮‍♂️

Fun Fact: I was once played at Selhurst Park! ⚽️

Liam Start

Operations Manager

Designated Safeguarding Lead

liam@avssp.co.uk

My favourite sport is Cricket 🏏

My sporting hero Chris Waddle because he played for Wednesday and scored a 30yd free kick against Sheff United in the semi-final of the FA cup! ⚽️

If I wasn’t a PE teacher I’d be a Sports Physiotherapist 👨‍⚕️

Fun Fact: I was Derbyshire’s best Chess player from ages 9-11! ♟️

Adam White

Primary PE & School Sport Specialist

Further Education Lead

adam@avssp.co.uk

Rachel Start

Primary PE & School Sport Specialist

SEND & Inclusion Lead

rachel@avssp.co.uk

My favourite sport is Football ⚽️

My sporting hero is Leah Williamson because she was the captain for England Women when they won the Euros in 2022 🏆

If I wasn’t a PE teacher I’d be a musician 🎸  or a Formula 1 driver for McLaren 🏎️

Fun fact: I have been to the top of the tallest building in Thailand🇹🇭

Anna Macluskey

PE & Sport Development Activator   

anna@avssp.co.uk

James Smith

Primary PE & School Sport Specialist 

james@avssp.co.uk

My favourite sport is Football ⚽️

My sporting hero is Paul Gascoigne because he taught me the true passion of football during the 1990 World Cup 🏆

If I wasn’t a PE teacher I’d be a DJ! I’d love to travel the world playing music to crowds 🎧

Fun Fact: I played for Notts County when I was younger and my striking partner was Jermaine Pennant! ⚽️

Paul Jeffrey

Primary PE & School Sport Specialist

paul@avssp.co.uk

My favourite sport is everything except skydiving 🪂

My sporting hero is my old PE teacher 🧑‍🏫

If I wasn’t a PE teacher I’d work in forestry 🌲

Fun Fact: Most people have 2, I have 3! 🤷🏼‍♂️

Stephen Hughes

Primary PE & School Sport Specialist

stephen@avssp.co.uk

Cherese Naylor

Primary PE & School Sport Specialist

cherese@avssp.co.uk

Rory Woodhouse

Primary PE & School Sport Specialist

rory@avssp.co.uk

My favourite sport is Football or Tennis 🎾⚽️

My sporting hero is Ronaldinho because he encouraged me to practice my skills so I could copy him! 🤩

If I wasn’t a PE teacher I’d work in Motor Sports 🏍️

Fun Fact: I have met Ronaldinho and Thierry Henry 🌟

Jake Mann

Primary PE & School Sport Specialist

jake@avssp.co.uk

Danny Tomlinson

Primary PE & School Sport Specialist

danny@avssp.co.uk

My favourite sport is Rugby 🏉

My sporting hero is my Grandad because he was a professional Rugby player and represented his country, Wales, twice 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁷󠁬󠁳󠁿

If I wasn’t a PE teacher I’d be Zoo Keeper because I love animals 🐼

Fun Fact: I am a semi-professional Rugby player 🎖️

Callum Grice

Primary PE & School Sport Specialist

callum@avssp.co.uk

My favourite sport is football ⚽️

My sporting hero is Ella Toone because she is a remarkable role model for Women’s football. She inspires me to pursue my passion for the game 🙌🏼

If I wasn’t a PE teacher I’d be a YouTuber 🎥

Fun Fact: I have three younger sisters 👯‍♀️

Olivia Froggatt

Primary PE & School Sport Activator

My favourite sport is Volleyball 🏐

My sporting hero is Mrs Allen my old PE teacher because I wouldn’t be where I am today without her enthusiasm for sport 🤩

If I wasn’t a PE teacher I’d be a personal trainer 🏋🏼‍♀️

Fun Fact: I’ve never broken a bone 🦴

Catherine Wing

Primary PE & School Sport Specialist

catherine@avssp.co.uk

My favourite sport is Football ⚽️

My sporting hero is Stefano Eranio, my first ever favourite player for Derby County 🐏

If i wasnt a PE teacher i’d be a Sports Journalist 📝

Fun Fact: I was born on Friday 13th 👻

Joe Pickering

Primary PE & School Sport Specialist 

joe@avssp.co.uk

Matt Pritchett

Primary PE & School Sport Activator

My favourite sport is Tennis 🎾

My sporting hero is Rodger Federer because he’s raised over £50million for charities through his foundations 💰

If I wasn’t a PE teacher I’d be a Tennis player! 🎾

Fun Fact: I was in Britain’s top 10 for Wheelchair Tennis and was 107th in the whole world! 🌎

Glen Gent

Primary PE & School Sport Specialist 

glen@avssp.co.uk

My favourite sport is running 🏃‍♀️

My sporting hero is Jessica Ennis because of her determination and drive to succeed! She has won Olympic Gold, 3 World Champions and European Champion🥇

If I wasn’t a PE teacher I’d be a Sports Photographer and travel the world 🌎

Fun Fact: I have completed London Marathon! 🏆

Tess Mitchell

Primary PE & School Sport Specialist

tess@avssp.co.uk