October 2015


Another eventful night at Alfreton Leisure Centre saw Coppice emerge victorious again by taking the Y3/4 medium schools title but it wasn't as easy as they were expecting with William Gilbert only 30 points behind them in a thrilling competition. Coppice were in first place following the three field events and taking an 80 point lead over Smalley Richardson and a 110 point lead over William Gilbert before heading in to the track races.

Holbrook Primary took the title of small school sportshall athletics champions but had to fight hard to get their win with both Breadsall and Loscoe pushing them all the way and eventually being tied in the runners up positions. In our first year of running a 1 centralised final 14 small schools took to the start line and competed for the title and opportunity to progress and represent Amber Valley in the Derbyshire County Finals. At the half way point in the event Breadsall were in front with 700 points, 640 for Holbrook and 410 for Loscoe.

30 points was all that separated Mundy Junior School and St John's Primary (Belper) to the title of Large Schools Sportshall Champions. In a competition that started in Mundy Juniors favour with some impressive field scores St John pulled their way back in to the event with some very quick track times. After the field events Mundy took a 100 point lead in to track and eventually won with only 30 points to spare. Our top six results were 1st Mundy 1210 pts 2nd St John 1180 3rd Swanwick Primary 1140 4th Howitt 850 5th Ripley Juniors 810 =6th Somerlea Junior and Long Row 630

Mundy Junior will also progress to the county finals with a fine win in the girls competition. They, along with St John Primary, hadn't dropped a game throughout the group stages so the final between them both was to be very tense. Mundy edged the game with the slightest of margins to send them through. Good luck to all the girls in the next round! Champions: Mundy A Runners Up: St John Loscoe Primary Howitt Primary Heage Primary Mundy Junior B Codnor Primary Shirland Primary

Loscoe Primary were crowned champions in the small schools competition for the second year in succession. Having been crowned Derbyshire Champions last year the team needed to ensure that played as well as they have done in previous tournaments to continue their winning ways. The team were under no illusions for this event and took their league with a full 100% win record that sees them now progress once again to the Derbyshire finals. Champions: Loscoe Primary Runners Up: Shirland Primary Breadsall Primary Wessington Primary